Skip primary navigation

The 2017 World Final


Our 2016/17 World Finals were held at the British Motor Museum, Gaydon, on Wednesday 21st June. With teams having travelled to the venue from England, Scotland, Wales, Australia and China, the anticipation of some serious competition was almost touchable. The day’s proceedings started at 9:45 with a fabulously inspiring motivational speech by Chris Bell from Wasps Rugby Club, encouraging everyone to work hard and achieve by doing their best.

Soon it was time to start the serious business of the day and after some short housekeeping points the youngsters were shown into the room where their work was to be done. The morning was spent working on their cars, getting them into as good a ‘race shape’ as possible. Debates amongst the teams were rife when they saw that the race was to be held at the Durban Circuit, a layout that they had never seen in their lives!  The set up on this circuit was going to be critical! But, hold on, this was the World Final of ‘Jaguar Maths in Motion’ so between the team members they got stuck into a bit of real-world problem solving and between them set up some brilliant cars! Mid-day soon came. It was time to stop work and a spontaneous choir of 90 voices shouted down the last 20 seconds – electric! Every one of the 30 teams taking part had managed to get a car onto the starting grid and things were getting VERY intense until the smell of lunch wafted into the room! A brief stop next to the F-TYPE for a group photo and then onto the enjoyable part of eating lunch and looking round the fabulous British Motor Museum. 

After lunch we got down to the business end of the day! The afternoon session started with the Teacher’s Race. This race takes place each year between the teachers of the finalists and the competition is taken very seriously indeed with reputations on the line. Some teachers told us that they had worked for hours on their cars and some were playing it very close to their chests and not saying what their strategies were at all but when the race started the noise level in the room went through the roof! It was hardly surprising that this race was going to be close, and it was! Winning out was Kevin O’Donnell from St Patrick’s R.C. Primary School, Stockton-on-Tees.  The winners were presented with prizes (including the traditional bottles of Champagne) by Wendy Richardson and the audience gave them a tumultuous cheer as they returned to their seats. The heartbeats of thirty  teachers returned to normal – it was over for another year!

James Betts then gave a short speech thanking all of the sponsors for their tremendous support throughout the year and for joining everybody at the event. He went on to mention the huge contribution to the Challenge Paul Richardson had made in over 20 years of work, and to thank people for their kind words when Paul sadly passed away last October. James went on to say that the Paul Richardson award for Endeavour – which was set up in Paul’s memory had been won by Alex Tamlyn from Roundhay St. John’s school in Leeds and we were thrilled that Alex was at the Final representing his school. 

His review of the year mentioned the many Teacher Training courses that are undertaken by the Challenge and particularly concentrated on the team work aspect of the Challenge. Soon, the moment arrived. It was time to start THE race of the day – The 2017 World Championship! There were to be two winners of the award as the race was divided into a Junior and Senior school sections. James handed over to Brian for the ‘Live’ commentary, whilst we streamed the event live across the globe using our YouTube channel. 

It was an extremely close race and the atmosphere in the room was electric but our Overall World Champions, The Compton School, London Borough of Barnet, won the race with an astonishing 22 second lead! Our Junior World Champions were St Peter & St Paul’s C of E Primary School, Lincolnshire. 


Every competitor in the room was then presented with a Jaguar goody bag that contained a certificate, a CD ROM memorial clock, a Jaguar driver’s cap, pen and a keyring.

The time had come to present the winners with their trophies. It was over and what a day it had been! Our ‘World Champions’ had been crowned and it was time for people to head home. 

On behalf of us all at the organising end of this Challenge we would like to say a special ‘thank you’ to Jonny from STAR IT for setting up all of the kit for us, and to John Graham from ICT-Direct for supplying all the laptops we used. A huge thank you to Brian, Wendy and Mandy for working so tirelessly on making this day the huge success it always is.

Thanks also to Gianluca and Sarah who joined us all the way from Glasgow and took time out of their busy schedule to lend extra pairs of hands in making sure the technology worked in order for us to stream to the world! You can still view this video here: 

There are so many people who contribute to making this an amazingly successful day and without the support of  Rapid Education, i-desk Solutions, Rising Stars, Kudlian Software, CCAB Digital, Firestorm Software and Silverstone Circuit it just would not be the same. The prizes this year were, in the words of one 10 year old, “seriously cool”! Finally, we must also thank the two graduates who volunteered to help out during the day and everyone at Jaguar Land Rover for the continued help and support they give to us all in making this such a wonderful Challenge to be part of.


Good luck to all of you and we’ll see you on the 20th June 2018!

Brian, Wendy, James, Mandy and the rest of the Team.


Junior Challenge School Local Authority
 1 St Peter & St Paul’s C of E Primary School Lincolnshire
2 St Patrick’s R.C. Primary School Stockton-on-Tees  
3 Bankfoot Primary School Bradford
4 Butlers Court Combined School Buckinghamshire
5 Warwick Junior School Warwickshire
6 St Peter in Thanet C of E Junior School Kent
7 Shrewsbury High Prep School Shropshire
 8 Prestwood Junior School Buckinghamshire
 9 St Mary’s C of E Primary School Buckinghamshire
 10 Cliftonville Primary School Kent
 11 Ysgol Bryn Hedydd Denbigshire
 12 Orford CEVAP Primary School Suffolk
 13 Roundhay St. John’s CE Primary School Leeds
 14 Portsmouth High School, Junior Dept Portsmouth
 15 St John’s CE Primary School LB Barnet
Senior Challenge  School  Local Authority
1 & Overall Winner The Compton School LB Barnet
2 Australind Senior High School Western Australia
3 The Merchant Taylors’ Senior Boys School Liverpool
4 Harrow International School, Beijing Beijing
5 Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys Kent
6 The Mountbatten School Hampshire
7 The Chatham & Clarendon Grammar School Kent
8 Turing House School LB Richmond
9 Bedwas High School Caerphilly
10 Darton College Barnsley
 11 Nottingham Girls’ High School Nottinghamshire
12 Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School Lincolnshire
13 St Thomas More Language College  RB Kensington & Chelsea
 14 The Kings’ School Worcestershire
 15 The Glasgow Academy Senior School Glasgow